Highlights to the end of the T20 World Cup 2024

Congratulations to India and South Africa on producing a memorable T20 World Cup final at Bridgetown.

Below are some highlights of the latter matches in the tournament coupled with individual competition performances for the whole of the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup, won by India.

  1. There have been 39 instances of a side batting first in a T20 World Cup match and scoring fewer than 150 runs and winning. There have been nine such occasions in the 2024 tournament, a record number for the competition overtaking the seven in 2016. These figures exclude rain-affected matches.
  2. The India and Australia Super 6 match aggregate of 386 for 12 wickets is the eighth highest T20 World Cup match aggregate and the second highest behind U.S.A vs. Canada (391 for 8) in this tournament.
  3. Afghanistan's win over Australia is their first over Australia in any international format. They have lost all four previous ODIs but, in their only other T20I match, narrowly lost by four runs.
  4. Afghanistan (115 for 5) reached the semi-finals by defending the joint-third lowest, completed total in the history of the T20 World Cup. Bangladesh's 106 against Nepal in this year's tournament is the lowest.
  5. Afghanistan's 56 against South Africa is the lowest completed semi-final total at the T20 World Cup comfortably surpassing 101 by West Indies vs. Sri Lanka at The Oval in 2009. England's 103 against India in the second semi-final is the third lowest (and England's third-lowest, completed total at the T20 World Cup).
  6. Rohit Sharma became the third player, after Virat Kohli and Mahela Jayawardene, to score 1000 T20 World Cup runs. Jos Buttler would become the fourth during the second semi-final.
  7. Shakib Al Hasan became the first bowler to take 50 T20 World Cup wickets.
  8. Fazalhaq Farooqi (Afghanistan) and Arshdeep Singh (India) both took the record number of wickets (17) in one T20 World Cup competition surpassing Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga's sixteen in 2021.
  9. There have been three hat-tricks in this year's tournament. Pat Cummins became the second Australian player after Brett Lee in 2007-08 in the game against Bangladesh and then followed it with a further hat-trick in the next match against Afghanistan. He becomes the first player to take two T20 World Cup hat-tricks. Chris Jordan took England's first T20 World Cup hat-trick, against U.S.A.
  10. Overall runs-per-over rates at all grounds are as follows: Gros Islet 9.05; North Sound, Antigua 8.18; Bridgetown, Barbados 7.89; Grand Prairie, Dallas 7.58; Providence, Guyana 6.42; Arnos Vale, St Vincent 6.16; Nassau, New York 5.74; Lauderhill, Florida 5.59 and Tarouba, Trinidad 5.51. As a guide to rates at other grounds used during all other T20 World Cup competitions, the list is headed by Wankhede, Mumbai 10.11; Wanderers, Johannesburg 8.62; Mohali 8.59; Gros Islet, St Lucia 8.32 (whose 2024 figures are reflected in this rate); North Sound, Antigua 8.18 (whose 2024 figures are likewise reflected in this rate); The Oval 8.14 and Pallekele 8.12.
  11. Average totals at each of the 2024 grounds are as follows: Gros Islet, St Lucia 174; Grand Prairie, Dallas 147; Bridgetown, Barbados 143; North Sound, Antigua 123; Arnos Vale, St Vincent 121; Providence, Guyana 116; Lauderhill, Florida 109; Nassau, New York 107; Tarouba, Trinidad 84.
  12. Lowest and highest individual bowling economy rates (min. 12 overs) Tim Southee (New Zealand) 3.00; Trent Boult (New Zealand) 3.69; Sompal Kami (Nepal) 3.78 /// Jasdeep Singh (USA) 10.08; Chris Jordan (England) 9.69; Sam Curran (England) 9.58; Ali Khan (USA) 9.36.
  13. The grounds at Tarouba, Providence and Nassau each saw five occasions of a bowler completing four overs in an innings and conceding an average of three (or fewer) runs per over. Arnos Vale had four such occasions.
  14. Best individual batting strike rates (min.60 balls faced): Brandon McMullen (Scotland) 170.73; Marcus Stoinis (Australia) 164.08; Phil Salt (England) 159.32; Jos Buttler (England) 158.52; Travis Head (Australia) 158.39; Harry Brook (England) 157.61; Rohit Sharma (India) 156.71; Hardik Pandya (India) 151.58; Andries Gous (USA) 151.03.
  15. Most runs in the competition: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan) 281 in 8 innings (average 35.13); Rohit Sharma (India) 257 in 8 innings (average 36.71); Travis Head (Australia) 255 runs in 7 innings (average 42.50); Quinton de Kock (South Africa) 243 in 9 innings (average 27.00); Ibrahim Zadran (Afghanistan) 231 runs in 8 innings (average 28.88); Nicholas Pooran (West Indies) 228 in 7 innings (average 38.00).
  16. Toss results for the competition:
    • Won toss, batted first, won match 5
    • Won toss, batted first, lost match 4
    • Won toss, fielded first, won match 23
    • Won toss, fielded first, lost match 19;
    • Abandoned matches, no toss 3;
    • Abandoned match, after toss 1.
  17. Ducks in competition: 112, the most in a T20 World Cup competition.
  18. The only other T20 World Cup competition which did not contain a single century was in 2009.
  19. South Africa's win over Nepal is one of only six one-run victories in the T20 World Cup but the only one to involve a non-Test-playing country.
  20. The Bangladesh and Nepal was only the second in the history of the T20 World Cup where all twenty wickets have fallen. The only other occasion was between Pakistan and Australia at Gros Islet in 2010.
  21. All three cancelled fixtures in this year's edition took place at Lauderhill. The same also happened in the 2022 T20 World Cup where three fixtures, all at Melbourne, were abandoned with no play.
  22. India's 2024 win is their second T20 World Cup triumph. They had beaten Pakistan in 2007 by a similar margin (5 runs).
  23. The final's match aggregate of 345 runs for 15 wickets equals the record number of runs scored in a T20 World Cup final between New Zealand and Australia at Dubai in 2021. Only six wickets were lost in the 2021 final.
  24. Virat Kohli became the second player after Marlon Samuels to score a fifty in two T20 World Cup finals.
  25. There were only two instances of a bowler conceding 50 or more runs in an innings and ten further between 45 and 49 in the 2024 competition. Three of these twelve instances occurred in the final.