Congratulations to England on winning the World Cup for the first time and commiserations to New Zealand on narrowly failing to emulate England's achievement in surely one of the very best ODIs.
  • The twelfth final is the first to go to a Super Over (or similar) to decide the winner.
  • The only other final which effectively ended in a tie was also at Lord's in 2005 when England and Australia shared the spoils of the Nat West Series trophy.
  • Like the 2015 final, no bowler on the victorious side conceded over 50 runs.
  • Like the 1979 final, also at Lord's, three batsmen on the victorious sides were dismissed for a duck.
  • After the 2011 and 2015 tournaments, England became the third consecutive winner to win the World Cup on their home turf and do so batting second.
  • Ross Taylor became the second New Zealand batsman after Stephen Fleming to score 1000 World Cup runs. Martin Guptill (with 995) just missed out on the landmark.
  • Ben Stokes's unbeaten 84 is England's highest score in a World Cup final surpassing Mike Brearley's 64 against West Indies in 1979.
  • The match saw the first World Cup final where four bowler each took three wickets apiece.